Skip navigation Go to the main menu

Michael Andreas Grolid

Michael Andreas Grolid
  • 1997 (Norway)
  • Studied at Barratt Due’s Institute of Music, Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler, and at the Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker
  • Is not only a violist, but also a composer
  • Has performed his own composed viola concerto as a soloist with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra and the Norwegian Radio Symphony Orchestra
  • Received the Arve Tellefsen Musicians Prize in 2017
  • Is principal viola of the Danish National Symphony Orchestra
  • Is part of the Opus13 String Quartet, which won second prize at the 2022 Banff International String Quartet Competition
  • Plays a viola by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini from 1768, on loan from Dextra Musica